Visit: Liverpool

My agenda for Liverpool:

  • Shopping
  • The docks
  • The Tate

And of course:

  • The Cavern Club

When we first arrived in Liverpool, we headed for Liverpool One: a shopping centre filled with huge high street stores, coffee shops and a variety of restaurants. Then, after only a short walk, we reached the Albert Docks which are host to various museums: the Tate (a collection of modern art), The Museum of Liverpool (an interesting look at Liverpool past and present) and of course The Beatles Story to name a few.

IMG_3764

Although the Tate was fairly small, it was one of the best art collections I’ve seen.

I finally saw the infamous bed by Tracey Emin! I stood right at the lines and peered over, desperately trying to take in every detail of the controversial piece.

IMG_3777

As well as featuring Tracey Emin artwork, the city pays tribute to its most famous exports: The Beatles.

I’d always expected Liverpool to be somewhat Beatles-imprinted but I was stunned by just how much they feature in the city. They were in the Museum of Liverpool,

IMG_3782

On a huge poster outside of HMV,

IMG_3778

And of course, their songs were performed in the Cavern club.

IMG_3793

The cavern club was my favourite thing about Liverpool, it completely exceeded my expectations.

IMG_3813

We walked down the flights of stairs and were greeted with the resident singer playing songs exclusively by acts that had played at the venue.

IMG_3794

The atmosphere was amazing, the tables were full of locals and tourists alike, beers in hand, taking in the music. It really is a gem.

IMG_3802

IMG_3809

 

Overall, Liverpool is a great city to visit, it has everything: culture, shopping, food, bars, music and of course The Beatles.

 

I’ll finish my post with a quote which I saw in The Museum of Liverpool by Daniel Defoe- for what he lacks in riveting novel writing (cough Robinson Crusoe cough), he makes up for in quotable speech:

IMG_3783

A wonder of Britain, it most certainly is.

8 thoughts on “Visit: Liverpool

  1. RyanC says:

    Liverpool sounds amazing!!!
    Last time I was in England I didn’t get a chance to visit – but definitely will next time I visit!!!

    Great piece 🙂 keep up the awesome work!

    RyanC
    theryanc.com

Leave a Reply

