Yoga: First Impressions

Today I decided to try something that I’ve been meaning to try for a while: yoga. 
For years I’ve heard about the benefits of yoga: it’s calming, toning and general ‘feel-good’ effect. But for years I’ve blamed my avoidance on ‘not being flexible enough’. But today I decided to test this. After scouring YouTube, I chose a video that sounded the most calming, ‘Yoga For Anxiety and Stress’ by Youtuber ‘Yoga With Adriene’.

 

The half hour video is filled with breathing techniques, stretches and exercises which engaged my whole body and mind. I was actually surprised by how challenging some of the moves were. Yes I lost my balance once or twice (or maybe three times…). But yoga surprised me. Sure, it doesn’t give the huge dopamine rush that you get from lifting heavy weights, but yoga gives you a different feeling. It gives you a sense of serenity, calmness and it silences your mind. Yoga is as much of a mental activity as it is physical and it benefits both your body and mind.

 

I really enjoyed trying out yoga and I will definitely continue. It’s something that you can do daily, for a session of self-clarity and inner calmness, something which I definitely search for.

5 thoughts on “Yoga: First Impressions

  1. I’ve been meaning to give Yoga a go for ages now, but I’ve always been afraid that I wouldn’t be flexible enough, and wouldn’t be able to do it right. Yoga for Anxiety and Stress sounds right up my alley though, and maybe If I do it in the comfort of my own home I won’t think about it too much and just relax. Thanks for the suggestion.

    Would you be interested in sharing your thoughts and posts with our community of health, fitness and nutrition enthusiasts over at “The Active You”? We’d love to hear what you have to say. You can check us out over at https://www.facebook.com/groups/theactiveyou!

  2. I love yoga with Adriene. And the one video I always keep going back to her of hers is the bedtime routine one is about 36 minutes long but I love it and I always have the best night sleep!

Leave a Reply

