Dawn O’Porter The Cows book review

I’ve recently discovered Dawn O’Porter’s podcasts, ‘Get it On’ which I’ve become a huge fan of and so when I heard about Dawn’s newest book, I couldn’t wait to give it a read. Her latest book The Cows is an honest look at what it is to be a woman today. 

Credit: David Loftus
 

The book’s bold cover and claim ‘Don’t follow the herd’ ties to Dawn’s exploration of the societal pressures on women. Her title, ‘the Cows’ was inspired by the pressures on women to be baby-makers. 

However, the book deals with more than just motherhood pressures. We follow the lives of Cam, Stella and Tara, three women dealing with different issues that later become entwined. The women are rounded, emotional, fearless and most importantly real. Dawn’s combination of romance, grief and a strive for independence are pulled together to create a modern comment on society. 

Arguably the book’s main theme is social media and its hold over us- its power to change lives, not always with consent. Internet sensations and bloggers are new phenomena that Dawn explores in an intimate, unapologetic and sometimes surprising way. 

The Cows is an up-to-date comment on women in today’s society; their friendships, their work lives, their social media personas and their health. This book is a heartfelt tribute to all women, everywhere. 

I would personally like to thank HarperCollins for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. 

And finally, follow Dawn’s mantra and don’t follow the herd

One thought on “Dawn O’Porter The Cows book review

  1. Ooh I love Dawn O Porter as a presenter, I knew she had a podcst but haven’t gotten around to listening yet as I’ve been binging different ones one by one, hers is next for me!
    This sounds good, I’m starting to create a list of books I want to read whilst I’m away in June and this one has just been sent to my Kindle!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Rachael Helpless Whilst Drying

Leave a Reply

