Blogging: am I a part of the problem?

There is no doubt that blogging comes under the term ‘social media’ and with social media comes negativity. Last January, I wrote about why I deleted Instagram (which you can read about here), I also deleted my Twitter and Snapchat accounts. One of the reasons for this was that I realised that these accounts weren’t making me happy. Actually, they were making me quite miserable. I spent so much time scrolling through people’s seemingly ‘happy’ and ‘carefree’ lives that I felt miserable about my own. I felt as though I constantly had to compete with other people, so I deleted my accounts. But, now sometimes I feel as though I’m a part of this problem. 

Ever since I started my blog, I’ve had spurts of writing and spurts of not writing. When I’m not writing, I’m either out of the habit of writing, feeling downbeat about my writing or worried about the effect my writing may have on others. I’ve done many posts of makeup tutorials, why certain products are good (and not good) and lifestyle posts. But I don’t want my posts to make anyone feel insecure. In any way. I’m not trying to create a facade that I’m living some perfect life with beauty products that I love or feeling completely stress-free and seemingly keeping on top of everything. 

Blogs never show the full picture, they are a protrayal of the positive parts of someone’s life. Social media portraits are not someone’s whole life. 

This quote sums it up for me:

“The reason we struggle with insecurity is because we compare our behind-the-scenes to everyone else’s highlight reel.”

Social media is just a highlight reel. So when someone seems to be presenting a perfect life, remember that it’s not the whole picture. 


Thanks for reading my mini rant, I hope it wasn’t too serious for you! I’ll be back with a more lighthearted post next time. 😊

28 thoughts on “Blogging: am I a part of the problem?

  1. Crystal S says:

    Great post! I personally connect to blogs and people that have real lives that don’t reflect perfection. You are 100% right that social media revolves around the idea that everyone’s lives are perfect in every way. I’ve watched my own sister post about how much she loved her husband and how’s he’s made her a better person when in reality they were considering divorce. That’s why I try to stay open minded to what others post because you never know what’s going on behind closed doors.

  2. philos quotidian says:

    A great post and I wholehearted agree with a lot things you’ve said. I’ve never had a facebook for example and have only had an Instagram for about 2 months. I’m so conscious of being sold heavily edited smoke screen lifestyles, when our lives are just perfect as they are. x

  3. Fashion and Frappes says:

    Great post. I love the line about the mini reel. I think we forget that maybe we realise whats real and not but another person might not. They might think this is how everyone else is and see themselves as different and lacking. But I think this problem is all over and not only within social media and blogging.

  4. lauraslatestthing says:

    I love this! i couldn’t agree more! we all spend so much time judging other people/ourselves based on social media post… people always forget behind that clean snapshot is probably i pile of laundry waiting to be done, dishes to be washed. No one is perfect and i love that you are reminding people that people usually on share the happy parts/clean parts.. we are all real people with things to do beside post a picture! sorry for the rant! great post keep it up!

  5. gilian says:

    Exactly what I was feeling lately. I wanted to delete everything. Haha but not blog. I also feel not like writing something because it might feel other people insecure but it then keeps me from writing. Haha maybe let’s just let other people get inspired and get going.
    I wanted to read more but you ended the post too soon. 🙂

  6. StyleMeShar says:

    I can relate to this. The entire post. Snapchat specifically caused me to go in a major negitivety streak with myself. Thanks for writing all the things most of us have once before thought. I really appreciate it, and I’m sure so much of the other readers done so them selves.

    http://stylemeshar.com

  7. fahimay says:

    Something I can relate to 100%. Your post resonates with familiar feelings and splashes of a reality check. It still irks me to see posts of people with picture perfect family lives and travel to exotic destinations. I too considered deleting my Facebook account, till I realised it could be a doorway to information and a platform to voice my views. Keep those words flowing withu great content!

Leave a Reply

