University: Pros and Cons

Arguably the most defining experience of my life has been university. Throwing myself in at the deep end in a new place, with new people in a new environment has definitely shaped who I am and will certainly shape who I will become. But like everything, university comes with its pros and cons. 


Cons:

I know it’s usually ‘pros and cons’ but I can’t end a blog post on the negativity of ‘cons’, so it’s cons first. 

Debt:

Naturally, this is the biggest turn off about university. There are huge issues with the government’s system of university loans and the debt of a degree is constantly looming. 

Stress:

Like all education, university is filled with stress: deadlines, rent and the ‘real’ world that you’re suddenly thrown into as a student are stressful. But really, this is inescapable. A lot of things worth working towards are stressful. 

Missing home:

I’ve definitely been homesick at university. It can be hard to feel so far away from home and everything you’ve ever known, but it does get easier. 

Pros:

Time to get a bit more positive. 

Living somewhere new:

If you’re lucky enough to move away for university, you will understand the excitement of living somewhere completely new. Yes, you’ll miss home, but it’s so thrilling to be able to discover a new place. 

Learning:

I think it’s often underestimated how enjoyable it is to actually learn something. Obviously, I don’t enjoy absolutely every aspect of the subject I study, but the majority of it really does interest me. I love learning about writers, the influence of texts and the questions a text creates.  

Community feel:

I currently study at a campus university, which means that all of the university buildings are on a separate space to the public streets. This basically means that my university feels like it’s own independent community, separate from the outside world. There’s a real student feel here and I love it.  

Like everything, there’s pros and cons to university, but ultimately it’s a once in a lifetime experience. University has it cons, but it’s so worth it. 

One thought on “University: Pros and Cons

Leave a Reply

