My favourite books

As you can see, I have a fairly large bookcase. As a literature student, I have to admit, I’m not proud of all of the books on here, there may be some fairly embarrassing titles- including ‘the one direction annual’, many celebrity autobiographies (I had a mini obsession with these) and of course some Nicholas Sparks’s romances and some Louise Rennison classics. But let’s not dwell on those… Today, I thought I’d tell you about my favourite books. 

Disclaimer: I haven’t read this book for a few years. But as a child, this was one of my all time favourite books. It’s about a girl who’s adopted and finds herself on a missing person site. It’s a pretty good read. 

I read this book a few years ago and it is absolutely heartbreaking. Of course, the film is brilliant, but the book is definitely worth a read. 


I have to admit, I’m not a huge Harry Potter fan, but this book is brilliant. I haven’t even read all of the Harry Potter’s or seen all of the films- but I’ve read this book a few times and I think J.K Rowling has an amazing style. 

This is my favourite young-adult read. It’s an emotional and well-written tale of adolescence. 

This book is a collection of essays and stories by Marina Keegan- who was a promising graduate from Yale who passed away five days after graduating. This is a beautiful collection of her writing and feels so poignant to read. 


This was my favourite book as a teenager- it’s a story of youth that’s written in such a unique way that I couldn’t put it down. 

I read this book before the film came out and I absolutely loved it. It’s so gripping and although it’s long, it never gets boring. 


The Great Gatsby is one of my favourite books ever. I studied it at A Level and have always thought that it is such a brilliant book. 

I have to give this a shoutout. Another book that I studied at A Level was Lyrical Ballads by Wordsworth and Coleridge, which I’ve also revisited at university. I love Romantic poetry and this collection is very close to my heart. 

Last year this was the first Ben Elton novel I read and I really enjoyed it. He has a really quirky and witty style, a very good read. 


A bit of a random one… I haven’t even read this all of the way through (despite how battered it looks). This book is a really interesting exploration of gender and how men and women experience things differently- it’s lighthearted but actually really interesting. 


Of course, I have to give my favourite childhood author a shoutout. Jacqueline Wilson was the author who made me love literature. I read every book of hers that I could get my hands on. I even met her too:


So that’s my favourites- I know they’re not the most ‘literary’, but it’s what I’ve enjoyed over the years. 

10 thoughts on “My favourite books

Leave a Reply

