How I cope with stress

Everyone who knows me knows that I can be a complete stress-head. Fortunately, over the years, I’ve developed some coping mechanisms. 

Exercise:

My number one thought when I’m stressed is ‘I need to get to the gym’. Exercise is such a good stress reliever. It’s distracting and it gives you a huge dopamine rush- so it instantly makes you feel better. 

Cut the caffeine:

Whenever I’m stressed, I think, ‘how much caffeine have I had today?’ Caffeine is a natural anxiety-stimulant, so when you’re feeling particularly stressed- cut the caffeine! You will seriously notice the difference. 

Breathe:

If I’m really stressed I try and do some kind of breathing exercise. I’m not really into the habit of meditation or mindfulness. But if I’m particularly stressed, I take the time to find a YouTube video of guided meditation or count and steady my breathing for a few minutes. 

Get stuff done:

If I’m stressed about something that I have to do, maybe a deadline or lots of university reading- I make sure to actually do some work. Being productive and actively working to accomplish what is stressing me out always helps me. Even if I don’t finish- working on something definitely decreases the stress. 

Tidy:

I’m not sure if I’m alone in this, but whenever I feel stressed- I love to tidy. If my flat or bedroom at home is messy, it instantly causes me stress. A tidy room is a tidy mind. 

Laugh:

Sometimes we need it. I put my phone down and concentrate on my favourite comedy TV show or film and laugh- out loud. It helps. 

One thought on “How I cope with stress

Leave a Reply

