Last night as a teenager, things I’d tell my teenage self

As you may or may not know, tomorrow is my 20th birthday. For some reason, it feels big. A big birthday, waving goodbye to the last 6 ‘teenage’ years. It almost feels like New Year’s Eve. I’m officially entering a new decade of my life and I’m excited but also feeling nostalgic. I’ve decided to note down things I’d tell my teenage self. 

Don’t be so scared

I’m not saying I don’t get scared anymore, but I’m definitely scared of less things. I can’t believe how much time I spent being scared in my teenage years. Scared to do something or scared of what people would think or scared of being different. Now, I’d tell myself not to be so scared, there’s nothing to be scared of. 

Do more

If I could go back I’d do more. For one, I’d have continued with this blog when I actually started it, which was over 3 years ago. For some reason, I didn’t carry on with it. Maybe I was too scared to. 

Enjoy being young

Okay, saying ‘enjoy being young’ seems to imply that I won’t be young at 20, of course I will. I’m still really really young. I suppose what I mean is, enjoy not being classed as an adult. Even before I was a teenager I was always so concerned with being mature and grown up. But now, I’d tell myself to just enjoy being the age that I am. Although we do seem to become more childish in some ways as we age, less concerned with being a serious grown up and more conscious of still being considered silly and young. 

I don’t think I’d tell myself anything more. I had my share of typical teenage experiences, I wouldn’t say my teens were ‘wild’ in any way, but I don’t regret that. I guess being a teenager is what you make it. 

Leave a Reply

