Mac Studio Fix Powder Plus foundation review

When I first approached the Mac counter years ago in Selfridges, I asked for the fullest coverage foundation they could offer. The assistant advised the Studio Fix fluid foundation and the Studio Fix powder foundation. Over the years, I’ve had a love/hate relationship with the fluid foundation, but the Studio Fix powder is the best makeup investment you can make. 

The powder can be used for a number of things:

Setting makeup

Lately I have used the powder to set my foundation- Estée Lauder Double Wear. The Mac and Estée Lauder products blend together perfectly. The powder mattes any shine on your face and is perfect for setting your makeup. 

Blending eyeshadow

I’ve also used the powder for blending my eyeshadow up to avoid a thick eyeshadow line on my eyelid. Using a smaller brush with the powder means you can perfectly smooth out your eyeshadow line. 


As foundation
I’ve also used the powder as foundation when I’ve been on holiday. When you’re in a particularly hot climate, thick foundation can feel heavy and greasy on your face. This powder gives you a light coverage and also mattes any sun-sheen you may have. 

As concealer

The powder also increases your foundation’s coverage. I’ve used it on my under-eye dark circles to increase coverage and conceal any imperfections. 

All in all, this powder is completely multi-purpose. At £20 it’s definitely worth investing, it’s lasted me around two years and I use it every single day. 

2 thoughts on “Mac Studio Fix Powder Plus foundation review

Leave a Reply

