Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation Review

For as long as I can remember I have been trying to search for that perfect full-coverage foundation. I’ve tried various drugstore options as well as Mac Studio Fix and more recently, Estée Lauder Double Wear. But as a money-saving option, I thought I’d try the much talked about Rimmel Lasting Finish foundation. After hearing people claim the foundation was a ‘complete full coverage’, I forked out the very reasonable £7.99. 

First impressions:

Smell:

Weirdly, the first thing I noticed about the foundation was its smell. It’s pleasant, unlike Mac and Estée Lauder’s similar ‘paint-like’ scent, the Rimmel foundation actually smelt nice. 

Rating: 4/5

Colour:

Before purchasing, naturally I tested the foundation in Superdrug, trying to find a shade that accurately matched my SW2 sand Estée colour. I opted for Classic Beige, which seemed to be a perfect dupe. However, when I tried the foundation on later, it was far more ‘pinky’ based than the yellow toned SW2 shade. This was a huge diasappointment, as its always my mission to remove redness from my face. I even got asked ‘why are you so red?’

1/5

Coverage:

The serum felt light on my skin, which although pleasant, meant that it gave far less coverage than I was used to. The serum was also incredibly oily, meaning I had to apply a lot of powder to remove the shine. The coverage was definitely not as full as Estée Lauder’s double wear. However, I plastered the foundation on but, although it may be considered ‘full coverage’, it wasn’t quite enough for me. 

3/5

Lasting Effect

Did it last for 25 hours? I only wore it for around 12 and although it did stay on, it seemed to get much thinner throughout the day and after a few hours my nose was completely oily. Although it may last (kind of), it needed extra powder top ups through the day to compensate for the ever-increasing oiliness. 

2/5

Overall, the foundation disappointed me a little. However, for a cheaper foundation alternative, I would use it again. 

Overall rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

