My First Football Match

This morning I went to my first ever football match, Fulham vs Hull. Throughout the 90 minutes, I became aware of football match ‘etiquette’ which included standing up when the players entered, clapping at every opportunity and pointing violently at the ref.


After we entered the Craven Cottage there was a light vitality brewing amongst supporters, which only grew when the match began. I found the game surprisingly engrossing, as tension mounted I was captivated, just as each other viewer was. I discovered witnessing a football match from the stands definitely elevated the game. In the ground you became apart of the audience’s enthusiasm, something obviously missing from a TV viewing.


The only thing lacking from the day was a Fulham win, but you can’t have everything.

One thought on “My First Football Match

Leave a Reply

