Personal

Why I deleted Instagram

Instagram was launched in 2010 and over the past 6 years has been at the forefront of social media. The app boasts 400 million monthly active users. I am not one of them.

I first got Instagram a few years ago and revelled in using heavy filters on my pictures, hoping to get likes. But over the past two years I’ve had a flippant love/hate relationship with Instagram. I deleted, re-made and re-deleted my account.

When I had my account, I was on the app constantly, not wanting to miss a single post. I was frequently suffering from ‘FOMO’ and constantly feeling bad about myself.

Instagram is the perfect environment for comparison. Every picture someone posts launches a comparison with your own. How many likes did they get? Was it more than yours? Are their eyebrows better than yours? Can you do contouring like that?

With celebrities like Kylie Jenner dominating the app, millions of people (48 million to be precise) are influenced by her and others’ lavish images. But why do we care so much?

After deleting the app I’ve compared myself to others a lot less. I’m not seeing gym selfies or painfully healthy meals or perfect make up everyday. I can see these things when I want to, if I want to. To me, the website destroys self confidence and pits people against each other incessantly. Yes, Facebook has likes too, but it’s not all pictures of people. For now, Instagram is a no go for me, I developed a toxic relationship with an app. And now it’s gone.
Stats courtesy of http://expandedramblings.com/index.php/important-instagram-stats

One thought on “Why I deleted Instagram

Leave a Reply

