Estèe Lauder Double Wear vs Mac Studio Fix foundation review

Shades used:

Mac NW10

Estée Lauder 1C0

For the past four years I have been a committed Mac Studio Fix foundation user. I’ve found the foundation okay, tending to dab the formula with my fingertips, creating a dewy coverage. Yet, by mid day, I usually needed to top up the foundation with powder, and by the evening totally re-do my foundation.

For the past year I’ve heard incessantly about Estée Lauder Double Wear, so decided to test it for myself. The price was the first draw back, £8 more than the £22 Mac Studio Fix. The consistency was also far more watery than Studio Fix, meaning I initially doubted the coverage.

Once the Double Wear was applied, I was impressed. The foundation lasted all day, whereas Studio Fix tended to ‘melt’ off. This ‘melting’ often leading to black smudges of eyeliner and mascara. With Estée Lauder Double Wear, my eyeliner stayed in place all day. I barely used any powder as the foundation is less sticky and more set into the skin than Studio Fix.
The only downside to Double Wear would be that it feels thicker on the skin, it gives a full coverage yet could become cakey if too much is applied.

The shades Estée Lauder 1C0 Shell and Mac NW10 seem to match perfectly, both suiting my pale and pinky undertones.

In short, Estée Lauder have convinced me, double wear provides a full coverage and is certainly worth the extra £8.

2 thoughts on “Estèe Lauder Double Wear vs Mac Studio Fix foundation review

  1. sarahbeautyboxaddict says:

    Great post, I agree Double wear lasts all day and can sometimes feel heavy, but still my preferred foundation x

Leave a Reply

