Joining the gym

I have always despised exercise. All my life I have been incredibly unfit and have honestly had no desire to do anything about it. Until three weeks ago when I reluctantly signed up to the gym. After forking out £60 for three monthly payments, I felt obligated to attempt to get my money’s worth and so went the next day.
Upon my first visit; the dreaded induction. I read online it could consist of figuring out your body’s ‘fat ratio’ and a fitness test to ensure the gym was right for you. Hellish. Fortunately, it was simply a tutorial for using all of the equipment correctly. Relief. After the lengthy instruction, one of my fellow gym ‘newbies’ left. For a moment I wondered whether to do the same. My yearn to conform attempting to convince me to ‘follow’. However, as I was fitted out in full gym attire, I felt contracted to stay.

My aim was cardio. Many people’s most dreaded six letter word. Including mine. The bike was my ally. My familiar that I’d occasionally used. Later I moved on to the more stimulating cross trainer and the more intimidating treadmill. The treadmill was my main fear. It reached top speeds that I could not. Leaving room for injury and embarrassment.

Despite the sweat, sweat, sweat and more sweat, I enjoyed my session. I felt pleased with what I had achieved and keen to push myself further. Prompting me to visit almost every day since.

For the first time in my life I was motivated to get healthy. After each gym session I saw more and more positives. As long as I stretched, no matter how hard I worked, I was not in pain. As long as I pushed myself, no matter how hard I worked, I was beaming. And as long as I made the effort to get out of the house and go, no matter how hard I worked, I felt amazing.

Over the past three weeks I have felt better than I ever have before. Going to the gym is so much more that simply exercising. Your fitness increases, a given, but you also gain confidence and paralysing happiness. I’m the happiest I have ever felt and I honestly believe I will be going to the gym for the rest of my life. Don’t knock it till you’ve tried it. You’ll feel great.

One thought on “Joining the gym

Leave a Reply

