It’s true, The Fault In Our Stars is great

Before reading The Fault In Our Stars by John Green I was a little hesitant. Sometimes I find myself put off by things that seem overrated incase I’m disappointed. TFIOS was not one of these times. I read it on my Kindle whilst on holiday in Portugal a couple of years ago and finished the book within two days. Sitting around the pool surrounded by strangers who could freely judge me as I cried at words on a page, may not have been my wisest decision. Although I’ve heard many say that they cry continually throughout the novel, what really got me was the plot twist (fellow readers of the novel will know my pain).

I believe Hazel Grace Lancaster is a sublime representation of teenage girls worldwide and was surprised to learn that the novel was in fact written by an adult male, John Green. Hazel is sarcastic, not typically ‘girly’ and most importantly; real. For those of you who aren’t aware of the plot (how are you getting wifi under a rock?) Hazel is a sixteen-year-old girl that has been diagnosed with thyroid cancer. Hazel begins attending a cancer support group due to her mother’s continuous nagging. Here, Hazel meets Augustus Walters. Heard of him? He approaches Hazel by telling her that she looks like Natalie Portman in V for Vendetta. Without giving too much away, a heartwarming romance blossoms. However, the book is a tragic love story and you will most definitely weep on at least one occasion whilst reading.

This Friday The Fault In Our Stars is released worldwide in cinemas. It stars Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort, who from what I’ve seen from video clips and trailers of the film, portray the characters remarkably. Woodley cut her hair just as Hazel is written to have it and donated the chopped locks to the Children With Hair Loss organisation. Another sweet fact about the film is that during the cancer support group scenes, real cancer sufferers were used.

I just feel the need to tell you to not miss this film or miss the chance to read the book due to your belief that it will ‘not live up to the hype’. It will. Millions of people across the planet will tell you that it will. They can’t all be wrong can they?

One thought on “It’s true, The Fault In Our Stars is great

Leave a Reply

